Reviews Candlenut

DempseyPeranakan, Asian$$$$
Excellent
5.2/6
277 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

PeraMakan

Harbourfront
5.3/648
PeraMakan

INDOCAFÉ - The White House

Newton
5.2/667
INDOCAFÉ - The White House

277 Candlenut Reviews

Read reviews about Candlenut here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Candlenut. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Candlenut.

Excellent
5.2/6
277 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Food:Outstanding
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Terrible"
1/6
Grace W.a year ago · 1 review

My past experience dining there was excellent. So in spite of the restn changing the ala carte to set menu at S$50 per pax for dinner, I was determined to show off the cuisine to my overseas guests. I had trusted that the restaurant could deliver. Sadly the dishes were not those we came to love about Peranakan dishes. No rendang, no chap chye, babi pongtey, ayam buah keluak, etc. Perhaps the restaurant had gone too modern for my taste. The service time was sooo slow that we had to ask to be served main dishes 3 x. By right, these should be served all at the same time. It is not a Western meal. Plus, having set menus meant that the dishes are already planned right? I highlighted to the restaurant staff to one of my guest's allergies and was informed that they will try to make exception because it's set dishes. But to be charged S$40 for fried rice and kangkong and a simple fried minced pork dish and duck/pork soup is really not worth it. Moreover the servers are not very familiar with the ingredients and inspite of confirming with every dish served to my friend, he had an allergic reaction to one of the dishes. That said, I am totally disappointed and embarrassed. A real pity. The set menu doesn't work.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joseph K.a year ago · 2 reviews

Very well structured and balanced meal. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and was also glad to meet Malcolm to find out more about his heritage and background. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I'll definitely be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Timothy D.a year ago · 2 reviews

Absolutely sensational food. I got giddier and giddier with each bite. Not for the faint of heart, because some of the later courses are PURE FIRE, but damn, those flavors are incredible. Can't wait to go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Robin S.a year ago · 1 review

Our meal was excellent. Lots of different dishes, flavours and textures. Though I didn't try the squid! The staff were excellent too, attentive and helpful when describing the food. An all round fine establishment and highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Xue Li G.a year ago · 1 review

Dinner was fantastic! Omasake style - petite dishes with exciting flavors. Each dish is like a surprise which will please the palate and stomach. Perfect with attentive and polite service crew! Definitely worth a visit again :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Patrina T.a year ago · 1 review

Definitely a 6! Good service and decent Paranakan dishes (which is not easy to achieve. Most of what we get out there are not authentic in taste because we Paranakans are all very good cooks at home).

"Good"
4/6
Bart D.a year ago · 12 reviews

Good and tasty Peranakan food, but I had much higher expectations for a restaurant that received one Michelin star. There is nothing particularly fine about the food nor the presentation, I couldn't distinguish much difference with other Peranakan restaurants. The atmosphere is more like a sterile hotel restaurant and the service is only average.

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda L.a year ago · 3 reviews

Great food, great service, unique space. Chef Malcolm is innovative with Peranakan cuisine and create refreshing interpretations. The old Dempsey warehouse space although large is made intimate with the clever use of an interesting light feature.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kitty C.a year ago · 1 review

Nice staff, friendly atmosphere. We ordered according the waitress's suggestion, all 4 dishes are delicious. The sauce of Buah Leluak Wagyu and Assam Sotong are delicious, highly recommended. I also like to Durian Soup for dessert.

"Great"
5/6
Steven T.a year ago · 1 review

Food was pretty good and service was prompt and attentive. The desserts were pretty outstanding. The coconut and chendol desserts were my favourite. The buah keluak ice cream was unique but a bit too avant garde for the palate of my family.

......