Reviews Candlenut

DempseyPeranakan, Asian$$$$
Excellent
5.2/6
277 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Jing Long Seafood Restaurant

Bedok
4.9/6277
Jing Long Seafood Restaurant

Dancing Fish Signature

Orchard
5.2/676
Dancing Fish Signature

277 Candlenut Reviews

Read reviews about Candlenut here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Candlenut. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Candlenut.

Excellent
5.2/6
277 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Great"
5/6
Irwin H.2 years ago · 1 review

Candlenut is ideal if you want solid peranakan food in a nice environment. The wagyu beef buah keluah and the chicken curry were very good as was the ngor hiang which we tried.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ernest N.2 years ago · 1 review

All the dishes I had were tasty, with flavours well balanced and not overpowering. The waitstaff were helpful and polite. I'll recommend Candlenut to friends and family.

"Excellent"
6/6
Donna B.2 years ago · 1 review

Peranakan cuisine was a new experience for us and we highly recommend this restaurant. Our waiter, Felix, and other staff members were so friendly and most helpful in explaining not only the cuisine but also the culture. The small plates were the perfect way to sample this interesting cuisine and everything was superb.

"Great"
5/6
Clara W.2 years ago · 1 review

The service was good and the location wasn't difficult to find, The food was spicy but i am really glad for the refillable water and rice. That helps alot. The waiter who served us was also very polite. All in all, a good experience. The portions are a bit small for a big eater like me though but otherwise it is really good,

"Great"
5/6
Melvin S.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was good. Loved the sambal sotong and the bakwan kepiting especially. Desserts were also good. The buah keluak ice cream was novel and interesting (note, finish this first before eating any other dessert). The chendol cream was nice but the textures of coconut is a must-try. Service could be better. Although staff are efficient, there is a lack of warmth.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sooklan L.2 years ago · 1 review

Delicious authentic Peranakan dishes, impeccable service by wait staff Felix, owner and head chef Malcolm went above and beyond to serve us his amahkase 10-course dinner menu when I requested last minute at lunch! Will definitely visit again in my next Singapore trip, but will be at the new Dempsey location.

"Excellent"
6/6
Theresa G.2 years ago · 5 reviews

Great service, interesting and good food, wonderful ambience! I'm definitely thinking of bringing my parents back to Candlenut. Thank you guys for the great experience!

"Great"
5/6
Vicky Z.2 years ago · 1 review

Nice settings, food was good but nothing fantastic. Went there to celebrate birthday for boyfriend, they prepared candles and complimentary dessert for us. It was nice. But something they can improve on is they don't serve plain water, you have to purchase bottled mineral water, which I found is a bit weird in a fine dining place.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ethel L.2 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic place and awesome service. Food is really good too! Highly recommended. Recently changed dinner menu from ala carte to set menu, I really like the selection as I get to try many other dishes that I normally would not order. Would not hesitate to go again!

"Great"
5/6
Christine K.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Nice ambiance - quiet and relax. Food is excellent. It was my first time trying this cuisine and I fell in love with it after eating at Candlenut.