Reviews Au Petit Salut

DempseyFrench$$$$
Excellent
5.1/6
664 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Bistro Du Vin - Shaw Centre

Orchard
5.0/6894
Bistro Du Vin - Shaw Centre

Merci Marcel - Tiong Bahru

Tiong Bahru
5.2/6359
Merci Marcel - Tiong Bahru

664 Au Petit Salut Reviews

Read reviews about Au Petit Salut here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Au Petit Salut. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Au Petit Salut.

Excellent
5.1/6
664 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Good value
Food:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
ANGEL S.4 months ago · 2 reviews

Great service. Good atmosphere. Delicious food. Good location. Highly recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Vikas G.5 months ago · 4 reviews

Consistently good food. Too bad the restaurant has closed down now :-(

"Excellent"
6/6
Mei Li G.6 months ago · 4 reviews

great overall , no complaints. would go there again definately

"Excellent"
6/6
Rupert B.7 months ago · 20 reviews

Ambience and food quality are on point. Very good service.

"Good"
4/6
Mellissa T.2 years ago · 3 reviews

I am a regular patron of this restaurant and have always enjoyed their superb and authentic French fare. It is always a delight spending time with friends and loved ones here, with the excellent food and charming ambience. This particular visit with a friend from Canada, however, did not turn out as fabulous. She ordered the oven-baked snapper for her mains and the fish and vegetables turned out a tad salty. She highlighted this to the Manager (Filipino staff with no name tag) and he brought it back to the kitchen to ascertain that the feedback was genuine. As with most food, it will take more than a mouthful to verify the quality of the food fully. In this case, you must eat more of it to ascertain whether it was indeed salty. He came back to say that the kitchen staff did not find it salty and politely and slightly condescendingly, told my friend off by saying that there was nothing wrong with the food and that it was her palette that was “different.” In other words, she was at fault. With that, he promptly walked off without an apology or provided any recourse. Our reaction must have registered disbelief and shock, when after about 20 minutes, he came back with two Shirley Temples and offered it to us, again without any apology and in his condescending manner, said that it was to make up for the main course that my friend did not finish. With that, he walked away. I guess Au Petit Salut needs to look into retraining their managers and staff on service quality and standard, especially service recovery skills.

"Good"
4/6
John L.2 years ago · 1 review

We ate dinner here, after having made a booking for a table via their web site in the late morning. The booking process was a breeze, and confirmation was received by email quite soon after. Au Petite Salute has been around since 1998. The cuisine is French, and the restaurant has many followers. Very popular at lunch time as many, including myself, have been there to eat their 3 course set lunch which is good value for the buck. But tonight it was for a special dinner. The service was attentive, polite and cordial. When my wife mentioned feeling a strong draft, the waiter immediately adjusted the blower of the air conditioner to lower the this. The ambiance is plain, with floor to ceiling glass panels on both sides of the dining room, and the room ends decorated with red brick tiles. Warm lighting made the place very cosy and comfortable. A well stock bar occupies one end of the room. There was piped jazz music, not my favorite. I thought the atmosphere could be more romantic with a better selection of music. The single white tulip flower on each vase on every table looked pathetic! We had the 3 course set dinner menu instead of the 4 course as we both cannot eat much, ordering, for our starters, the Smoked salmon, with fresh vegetables, sour cream & dill, capers, micro herbs, with balsamic reduction; the Lobster Bisque with lobster ravioli, and fresh tarragon. The main course was a Crispy French duck leg confit, with roasted potato, caramelized onions, orange & Piment d’Espelette, and brown jus. My wife had the Red wine braised beef cheeks, with carrots, button mushroom, and Pommes Mousseline. For deserts, I had the Choux buns and vanilla ice cream, with warm chocolate sauce and sliced almonds; and my wife had the Creme Brulee with fresh Madagascar vanilla beans and chocolate pearls. This was finished with a coffee and a tea. The duck was pretty delicious and well seasoned. The skin was crispy, and the flesh tender enough to fall off the bone. I like the orange flavor, but found the Brussel sprouts a little undercooked. The Beef cheeks were tender, but I found the smell of beef a little too overpowering for my liking and would have struggled to eat this dish. My wife however, didn’t think this was so, but then she has problems with smelling due to medication affecting her smell senses. The deserts were very good. I enjoyed the crunchy almond bits and the vanilla ice cream with the chocolate sauce. My glass of red wine was obviously poured from the last drops of the bottle. There was so much residue that it was unpleasant to drink the bottom third of the glass, but at $18/- a glass, one tries not to waste too much! In all a pleasant evening which could have been better. A place which I would return for special occasions, and hopefully, find fewer negative points than tonight. Four stars for the moment.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alexander M.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service, would recommend Au Petit Salut for a lunch or dinner. We (a couple) were seated alone when a bunch of people arrived, sat next to us and began a lively conversation - the Maître D', unprompted, asked if we would like to move to a more quiet part of the restaurant, which we thought was a very nice gesture. Food was very nicely presented, of fresh ingredients and delicious. The premises has just been refurbished and has a lovely feel - greenery all around, a section which was previously open has been glazed and air-conditioned - very comfortable.

"Great"
5/6
Angelia J.2 years ago · 1 review

Well hidden gem in Dempsey hill! classic stand alone French restaurant with amazing food to boast. This place has its own parking area that leads to a grand entrance to the restaurant. The dinner selection was interesting with several authentic French delights such as French onion soup ( highly recommended), duck confit & quail with foie gras. We had the French onion soup, lobster bisque with lobster ravioli, seafood platter & saddle of lamb with ratatouille. The onion soup was flavorful with lots of melted cheese, caramelized onions & croutons injected into the dish. The lobster bisque was equally flavorful and the ravioli was prepared al dente. Would be better if the ravioli was stuffed with more lobster meat. The seafood platter delighted us with their presentation; cod on squid ink couscous, grilled prawn with lobster emulsion & pan seared scallop. Fresh tasting seafood which would have tasted better if it was served when hot. The saddle of lamb was cooked to perfection; medium rare. Meat was tender and seasoned well. Ratatouille was stuffed in piquillo peppers and was delicious! We picked a bottle of Argentinian Malbec 2012 and it was A perfect accompliment to our dinner. We ended our dinner with a palette cleansing lychee & berry sorbet with fresh fruit. Downsides to this restaurant: there wasn't much enthusiasm when guests enter the restaurant. This was rather disappointing. No recommendation for wines to pair with food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kevin L.2 years ago · 1 review

It is priced for a top quality food and experience. There's a choice for indoors or outdoors and the latter is quite nice even though there is no air conditioning. Au Petit Salut serves traditional french, with french ingredients. Even the butter they serve for your bread is not from the local grocers. I have never received bad service, food was served in a comfortable pace. Seasonal delicacies are also available, we had, untop of our set, oysters from bretagne. I've always been there for special occasions, and will definately go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Arthur v.2 years ago · 4 reviews

I've had the pleasure of dinning at Au Petit Salut over the past few years on a number of occasions. Unfortunately, not as often as I would like. T he food and service is very good and done in a lovely setting. On our visit yesterday evening, I went to enjoy their Valentine's Menu, and while they were very busy, the pacing of the meal was at a good pace and not rushed. The food was, as always, well prepared and so nicely presented. We had a lovely evening.