Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Singapore
City Hall
Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall
Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall Reviews

Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall

Photo of restaurant Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall in City Hall, Singapore

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall (64)

Read what people think about Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Straits Chinese Nonya - Esplanade Mall and book a table with confidence!

4.6/6

64 reviews

Food:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
615
524
414
310
2
11
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
New"Very good"
5/6
Adeline C.2 days ago · 1 review

Good dining experience on Father’s Day weekend with good recommendations from the server.

"Good"
4/6
Camus C.17 days ago · 11 reviews

Food were good. Food served up in good time. Good environment.

"Average"
3/6
Karen L.a month ago · 1 review

Food was bland and not up to expectations as per reviews. Would not go back

"Very good"
5/6
Ricky S.2 months ago · 1 review

We enjoyed the dishes. The beef rendang, chap chye, siya sauce pork, otah and poh piah were delicious. Chendol was great too!

"Excellent"
6/6
Yiqi A.2 months ago · 1 review

Great restaurant and staff. Food was delicious and served swiftly. Price is reasonable and the staff accommodated our requests. Highly recommended.

"Very good"
5/6
Iris L.3 months ago · 5 reviews

Food and ambience were great. Staff was very attentive too.

"Good"
4/6
Wanny C.4 months ago · 2 reviews

We enjoyed a very tasty meal with 2 families. Portions are relatively small, which is beneficial for trying out more dishes though. Perhaps it was the CNY crowd that made the personnel slightly forgetful.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jeffrey J.4 months ago · 2 reviews

Very good service despite all tables taken up. We did not have to wait too long for the food to be served.

"Average"
3/6
Mila Z.4 months ago · 4 reviews

Portion is small, overpriced , taste is average , service is below average

"Very good"
5/6
Tian C.4 months ago · 6 reviews

Authentic nonya food and the ambience is great in the restaurant

"Very good"
5/6
PAMELA L.5 months ago · 14 reviews

amazing food as always, though portion is slightly small! the classics are always recommended.

"Good"
4/6
Allson C.5 months ago · 1 review

Great place for entertaining foreign guest. Food was great, and the atmostphere was special.

"Very good"
5/6
Sharen P.6 months ago · 3 reviews

Cost restaurant with the family feels. Good quality is good.

"Awful"
1/6
Dianna k.8 months ago · 1 review

The food portion was ridiculously small. Chap chye is overly flavoured. Too salty with too much dried prawns. The rendang was only THREE TINY PIECES of chicken. Overall, is a disappointment

"Very good"
5/6
Carmen H.8 months ago · 1 review

Food is tasty, I like their sambal sauce. Nice ambience with Peranakan deco. Good place for gathering.

"Very good"
5/6
Huay Huay L.9 months ago · 8 reviews

Great food and goes well with rice. The portion was perfect.

"Good"
4/6
Ben F.9 months ago · 1 review

Food was nice but the food portions were small though.

"Very good"
5/6
LK M.9 months ago · 1 review

A group of German tourists and a local tour guide sang Our birthday friend a German birthday songs! The food is tantalising.

"Very good"
5/6
Rosemarie L.10 months ago · 49 reviews

very flavourful food. hainanese pork chop was great. came piping hot and crispy with the sauce on the side :)

"Average"
3/6
Jo Y.10 months ago · 22 reviews

Food portion has shrinked by alot, I found it quite expensive even with burpple 1-1. Hope they can increase the portion as the taste is still good.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jo Y.a year ago · 22 reviews

Food was good but portion can be a little bigger. The brinjal was very flavourful and we are deciding to try out the other outlet :)

"Very good"
5/6
Hongfei D.a year ago · 5 reviews

Food was nice but not as hot as it should be. Waiter should be more careful, his thumb was dipped into the food gravy when serving. Drinks serve need to be more consistency too. We ordered 2 drinks and the amount of water was quite different.

"Excellent"
6/6
Bryan H.2 years ago · 14 reviews

Good bagus tasty delicious will come again authentic very good

"Very good"
5/6
Z G.2 years ago · 16 reviews

Food taste was decent but a little pricey. Decor was quite nice, service can be improved. Staff were rather nonchalant.

"Average"
3/6
Sam Y.2 years ago · 20 reviews

Food is average. Prices are rather high at $10 each for Spring Rolls and Ngoh Hiang

"Very good"
5/6
YH T.2 years ago · 6 reviews

Food was served pretty quickly, it was quite ok, some of the flavours might be a bit salty but otherwise service was good. Otah and ngor hiang are must order!

"Good"
4/6
Jerry L.2 years ago · 28 reviews

We went to the restaurant as a party of 3 adults and tried the buffet at $39.90 per pax plus get & service charge. Nyonya dishes were good, quite authentic and delicious. Even though the selection was more than 20 dishes, we opined that some dishes like beef or mutton or chicken rendang and some tahu dishes shd also be in the buffet menu.

"Excellent"
6/6
Augustine N.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Authentic & traditional peranakan food with good ambience. Worth the visit!:)

"Excellent"
6/6
dwight l.2 years ago · 14 reviews

fast service. food quality is not bad for the price.

"Good"
4/6
Brendalene T.3 years ago · 11 reviews

nice ambience. food was ok. but portion can be bigger.

"Very good"
5/6
Winnie H.3 years ago · 35 reviews

Love coming here. Food is delicious and service is good.

"Good"
4/6
Alan W.3 years ago · 45 reviews

Good food, nice ambience. A bit pricey though. Service is ok

"Excellent"
6/6
Lily J.4 years ago · 3 reviews

First visit we were the only guests there so were promptly served. Assam fish and chicken rendang was good.

"Average"
3/6
Gladys O.4 years ago · 47 reviews

I decided to give it a try after reading the reviews online but my dining experience came out to be quite average in almost all aspects (especially quality of the ingredients). I ordered the set meal for 2 to 3 pax which consist of Curry fish head, Chap Chye and Ngoh Hiang which I thought was quite value for money only to realise that it came out otherwise.

"Excellent"
6/6
Saby L.4 years ago · 25 reviews

Service is good and food is decent and affordable, with a great view.

"Good"
4/6
Huey Jiun L.4 years ago · 2 reviews

We ordered the set dinner. Food was great and the price was reasonable. Service was attentive!

"Good"
4/6
Hsiao Wei T.4 years ago · 16 reviews

Quality and taste are good. Price on the high side.

"Excellent"
6/6
TK C.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Nice & ambience place. Reasonable pricing and good quality food

"Very good"
5/6
May T.5 years ago · 1 review

Good service. Good restaurant ambiance. Good food at reasonable prices. I would come back here to bring my guests.

"Very good"
5/6
Susan K.5 years ago · 2 reviews

The food is good and authentic. The staffs are friendly too.

"Very good"
5/6
Michelle L.5 years ago · 1 review

Nice ambience with good authentic peranakan food! Love the Ayam Buah Keluak!

"Good"
4/6
Clarice C.5 years ago · 1 review

I must say that the food there were just like those in the food courts. Nothing special. Michelin guide restaurants are always like this. Small portion of food on a big white plate. Will not go and will not recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Winnie H.5 years ago · 35 reviews

Food was delicious. Service was fine. Will come again soon.

"Average"
3/6
Miriam G.5 years ago · 4 reviews

Nothing special. Curry chicken is fine, though more skin and bone than meat.

"Good"
4/6
Lucas C.5 years ago · 10 reviews

Good food with traditinal Nyonya theme. Worth a try! Not easy to spot the location.

"Excellent"
6/6
carol c.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Fast and friendly service. Served fast so that we had ample time to enjoy the food and go for the concert. Helpful too in suggestions. Food was awesome. My favourite is the otah and the lemongrass drink. Kudos!

"Good"
4/6
Lai K.6 years ago · 26 reviews

Overall the food was alright but the service might need improvement. Not the best service I had come across with. Food was served fast but maybe we were there quite late and we felt that they were rushing us off for their own dinner.

"Very good"
5/6
Angela N.6 years ago · 9 reviews

Delicious authentic nonya food especially chap chye, curry fishhead, udang sambal and ayam buah keluak well-loved by our overseas guests. Desserts are nice too. Will be back again to try other dishes.

"Very good"
5/6
Angie T.6 years ago · 20 reviews

Quite a good experience dining at this restaurant. Felt cosy in the peranakan-meets-minimalist decor even though the restaurant is quite big. Not crowded on a Sunday evening. Food was not bad, some dishes better than others.

"Average"
3/6
Lee may K.6 years ago · 1 review

Although I have reserved, we were asked to sit at a corner away from others. The table was not set up , no chairs. Waitress looked a bit surprised to see us. Unfriendly.