Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Singapore
East Coast
Chat Masala
Chat Masala Reviews

Chat Masala

Indian, Asian, Southeast Asian

Dishes priced aroundSGD 10

Photo of restaurant Chat Masala in East Coast, Singapore

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Chat Masala (55)

Read what people think about Chat Masala. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Chat Masala before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Chat Masala and book a table with confidence!

5.3/6

55 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
628
519
47
3
2
11
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Very good"
5/6
Gamar A.3 months ago · 1 review

Great food, good ambience. Other diners were tad too loud.

"Very good"
5/6
Gerard V.8 months ago · 9 reviews

It was as great as always! And more and more

"Good"
4/6
Steven v.2 years ago · 40 reviews

Good place for a quick meal in the afternoon. Recommend

"Very good"
5/6
Ramakrishnan M.3 years ago · 1 review

Food is good. Service is good. Parking is a problem

"Good"
4/6
Gladys O.3 years ago · 47 reviews

I rated Good as the overall experience is not bad. The price and food quantity is more or less aligned. However, I wasn't pleased that they charge even small things like chopped onions. I don't recall any other Indian restaurants chatting for such small things. Very commercial and opportunist mentality.

"Excellent"
6/6
Madeleine L.4 years ago · 12 reviews

Amazing as usual experience! Love the fruity nann and the usual chicken briyani, paneer palek and kebab that’s not on the menu - be sure to ask the lovely ladies! Enjoy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Madeleine L.4 years ago · 12 reviews

Amazing food and great staff who recommends and help you with the orders - too many good food to order! Must haves - chicken briyani, mutton briyani, palak paneer and the fruit nann!!! Go hungry! Very Delicious. Enjoy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Leonard J.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Great ambiance, great food and great service. Parking is troublesome.

"Very good"
5/6
Lau J.4 years ago · 3 reviews

Great time with friends and service was attentive. Good food, especially the naan!

"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle T.4 years ago · 1 review

Great food and great service. Highly recommend. Restaurant is empty on a weekday night.

"Very good"
5/6
Chris L.4 years ago · 1 review

It was enjoyable , the food was great, and we will definitely visit this place again.

"Very good"
5/6
Linda L.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Overall experience was really good. Will definitely come back again!

"Very good"
5/6
Clarence N.5 years ago · 5 reviews

The food was excellent. The briyani was exceptional. Highly recommended for a nice casual Indian dinner but yet in a nice environment.

"Very good"
5/6
Jennifer K.5 years ago · 43 reviews

The food is delicious and their service was good 😊

"Excellent"
6/6
Dan M.5 years ago · 2 reviews

As always great - a visiting friend from the UK who used to live here demanded we take him there on his first trip to SG in 5 years - still consistently excellent!

"Excellent"
6/6
P Y.5 years ago · 29 reviews

Cosy, quiet place to dine in. Love the ginger masala and garlic naan there! And also great service provided by friendly staff! Thank you :)

"Awful"
1/6
I-Chun L.5 years ago · 17 reviews

We used to be such regulars at Chat Masala, going there as often as twice a month. Mung Dhal, Kadai Paneer, Masala Chicken and Romali Roti are the dishes we order all the time. It was very disappointing to notice a change in quality when they started offering 20% off for weekday lunch. Mung Dhal was darker, with a cakey top layer that looked like cracked mud. The Kadai Paneer had very few pieces of paneer and drowned in a thick gravy that tasted quite different from before. The Masala Chicken had more bones than meat. After we complained about the drastic drop in quality, the restaurant offered to remake the Mung Dhal (finally it tasted and looked right), gave us 2 extra chunkier pieces of chicken (I deboned a piece in front of the manager to let her see how much bone there was and how little meat, telling her I did not pay to eat bones). Truly upsetting that this is how they treat their regular customers. Never again will we fall for such "promotions" again. Neither will we return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Zila Z.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Awesome food as always. Their butter chicken is to die for

"Excellent"
6/6
Terence N.5 years ago · 1 review

Great place for guest from India who has strict dietary.

"Excellent"
6/6
Teck Koon L.5 years ago · 8 reviews

Enjoyed the Kadai Paneer, Mung Dhal, Masala Chicken and Romali Roti. One of the few restaurants which does not levy GST.

"Very good"
5/6
I-Chun L.5 years ago · 17 reviews

Mung dal has become my favourite dish. It would be better if the Chicken biryani can be made healthier by eliminating the red artificial colouring and sugar. The sweetness was overpowering, and takes away from the lovely spices.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jo H.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Great food and a lovely sense of hospitality. Thank you. 😊

"Excellent"
6/6
Teck Koon L.5 years ago · 8 reviews

Tasty food and attentive service. Love the Mint Chutney, Yellow Dal, Chicken Briyani, Rumali Roti. Been a regular and followed Chat Masala from Bt Timah to East Coast.

"Excellent"
6/6
I-Chun L.5 years ago · 17 reviews

Chat Masala is our go-to place whenever we crave for good Indian food. The chef is adept at producing consistently delicious food, which is flavoursome and not too rich.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pushpa V.5 years ago · 1 review

Mutton Briyani was awesome! Cheese Triangles were very tasty. Do note it comes with brinjal strips. So if you want to try that dish that portion is sufficient.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dilip K.6 years ago · 2 reviews

6-Delicious food in ample quantity with a pleasant and efficient service to round off an excellent lunch among friends; it doesn’t get any better than this !

"Excellent"
6/6
Jennifer K.6 years ago · 43 reviews

The food is very nice. Nice ambiance and friendly staff. This place will always be my first choice for Indian food. The eggplant strips is superb. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
ronald Y.H. c.6 years ago · 1 review

Service was good even though there was only one guy for the whole restaurant. He managed very well. Food was great as always I've been there.

"Very good"
5/6
Wee Ping Y.6 years ago · 1 review

excellent service, excellent ambience where my friends had a great chat over lunch. will go again! Also like the food recommendations as we are not familiar with indian cuisines

"Good"
4/6
Josephine T.6 years ago · 1 review

My family's been eating here for the past few years. It's a pity that their mussels, which was the only thing we used to go there for, is no longer on the menu. Their naans are still as delicious as ever and goes well with most (if not all) of their dishes. Thank you!

"Very good"
5/6
Agnes L.6 years ago · 1 review

The food is great & delicious. Nice environment. It will be good is menu comes with photos. Staff with knowledge in recommending the food will be an advantage. Thank you.

"Good"
4/6
Siew Kiang T.6 years ago · 1 review

The ambience is good as it is quiet and cosy . As for the good I rate it average for the price we paid. The wine selections are limited.

"Excellent"
6/6
Roger H.6 years ago · 4 reviews

Chat Masala is a restaurant that has always maintained its quality of food all these years however busy or not. We hv been going there since it opened in the 90s. Good Indian food in nice quiet neighbourhood.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tracee d.6 years ago · 2 reviews

always a pleasure to eat here. highly recommended for everyone.

"Excellent"
6/6
I-Chun L.6 years ago · 17 reviews

Back for 2nd consecutive week and the owner treated us to the restaurant's popular Fish Vadais, knowing that we live quite far away :) Love the Palak Paneer and Lacha Paratha, which is naan-like paratha grilled in the tandoor with a drizzle of butter. Found the Chicken Tikka here are a tad too dry though. Overall, we enjoyed the dining experience at Chat Masala.

"Excellent"
6/6
I-Chun L.6 years ago · 17 reviews

Thoroughly enjoyed the Mint and Green Chilli Chutney that came with the pappadam, Dhal Makhni, Masala Chicken, Plain Naan and Chapatti! Reasonably priced - there's 10% service charge but no GST. Spices are well balanced and curries not too salty or rich. We will definitely return to work our way through their menu.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gen C.6 years ago · 2 reviews

Chat Masala provides authentic and delicious Indian food! The ambience was nice and quiet too. I certainly would not hesitate returning in future for meals!

"Excellent"
6/6
Angeline C.7 years ago · 1 review

Best kept secret for a great Indian cuisine meal. We’ve been getting great meals from Chat Masala for years even though we live on the opposite end of Singapore. The meals are hearty yet unpretentiously refined. Only challenge sometimes is parking. That being said, we always managed to find a spot albeit a bit of a walk away.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tracee d.7 years ago · 2 reviews

great food, ambiance, and service. the organ gosh with the different flavored Naans is with the wait!

"Very good"
5/6
Quandoo Diner7 years ago · 1 review

The food was good as usual and their staff are friendly. The naan are great and is a must try item. My favourite is the cheese naan.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nina W.7 years ago · 6 reviews

I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about chat masala, and finally I had the opportunity to try it yesterday. Food was really tasty, service was excellent too. We really enjoyed our dining experience over there, and will plan to come visit again soon!

"Excellent"
6/6
Zila Z.7 years ago · 2 reviews

The food was absolutely scrumptious. The butter chicken was exceptionally creamy. The staff was very hospitable and helpful in explaining the different types of dishes available. Wonderful dining experience! Would definitely come back

"Excellent"
6/6
Jamie J.7 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food. From starter to dessert everything was a delight to eat. The service was good. The place Is cosy. A must go for excellent Indian food. My personal favourites the starter platter, prawn curry,chicken perattu rice and Bailey's kulfi

"Very good"
5/6
Janet T.7 years ago · 4 reviews

Great food, always a favorite when we have visitors from overseas. A tad noisy when the restaurant is full, but you can count on us to go back

"Very good"
5/6
ChinPing Q.7 years ago · 1 review

My Wife and I enjoyed very much while having our lunch at your place... Thank you very much. Yesterday was our 2nd time there. We will definitely be back..... See you..

"Excellent"
6/6
Kristen H.7 years ago · 3 reviews

After searching for years for a great Indian restaurant in Singapore, I've finally found it. Wonderful service and delicious food. I Really enjoyed Chat Masala.

"Very good"
5/6
Teng Joo L.7 years ago · 4 reviews

Weekend lunch. Arrived late, and they accommodated us. No frills, good authentic Indian fares. Ordered tandoori platter, butter chicken, pilaf rice, garlic and cheese naan, and sweet lassi.

"Good"
4/6
Ajay S.7 years ago · 1 review

Nice food. Accommodating hosts (we arrived earlier then our booking). Small portions. Slow service. Cramped interiors. No music (can dampen the noise levels of so many people dining together).

"Good"
4/6
Bianca M.7 years ago · 1 review

Overall ambience, service rendered was fantastic. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was great- we had pilaf rice, paprika prawns and eggplant strips . Food was delicious (pilaf rice and prawns). Our suggestion however is to make the eggplant strips dish less sweet. Although it was tasty too!

"Good"
4/6
Regina K.7 years ago · 1 review

Chat Masala serves consistently good food . The house specials are yummy n the pleasant service staff makes this a great place to dine in.