Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Singapore
River Valley
The Tavern
The Tavern Reviews

The Tavern

Photo of restaurant The Tavern in River Valley, Singapore

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Tavern (34)

Read what people think about The Tavern. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Tavern before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Tavern and book a table with confidence!

4.7/6

34 reviews

Food:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Reasonable value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
616
57
44
33
21
13
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Excellent"
6/6
Angie H.2 months ago · 1 review

Visited The Tavern Restaurant for a lunch meeting with my cousins! The food was good, and the portion was more than enough to feed the 5 of us. I will definitely return again for the food and atmosphere :)

"Very good"
5/6
George S.a year ago · 7 reviews

amazing place . Will return again in the future for more

"Awful"
1/6
Roberta B.3 years ago · 1 review

Quite disappointed with the menu and service. Several menu items and picture mentioned on the online reviews are no longer available. Extremely overpriced and for the quality of the food. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and when the bill was presented to us they had charged the price of 2 bottles. If we had not checked the bill we would probably be overcharged. Not recommended.

"Average"
3/6
Fiona G.3 years ago · 9 reviews

The food was really good, but services compared to previously has gone down...

"Excellent"
6/6
ICHIJI M.3 years ago · 5 reviews

Clasdical atmosphere and scrumptious food. I tried mini steak but 170g to 180g, good enough. We wanto come back to try foie gras.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tan S.4 years ago · 1 review

Exquisite food and service. The Japanese Wagyu just melts in your mouth. Also tried the escargots, foie gra, fresh oysters and cod fish. Will visit again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lilian C.5 years ago · 117 reviews

Excelllent service , great food which was value for money with the set lunch promo. Without the promo, it would be quite expensive

"Excellent"
6/6
Terrence T.5 years ago · 2 reviews

good food and atmosphere. will definitely go back there again

"Very good"
5/6
Karen Q.5 years ago · 15 reviews

The Tavern has that air of Singapore back in the 80s/90s. Like a Fosters or something. Service was personal and this is one of those places that still wheels out the slab of Beef and slice it to the size you want your steak to be. Also, one of the few places that wheels out the Crepe Suzette trolley and makes it in front of you. Always good food here.

"Excellent"
6/6
Cee L.5 years ago · 155 reviews

Nice cozy place. Great service, simply love the quality of food served tho quality comes with a price. The lunch time deals are really good value for money.

"Good"
4/6
Desiree S.5 years ago · 8 reviews

Steak was fantastic. The price is as expected for a premium steakhouse ($180 for two persons for a 150g steak each with one appetiser). The sides that came with the steak were acceptable but not great. However, the experience was marred by the strange hardselling by the owner, to first, order a more premium steak, then a bigger portion of the steak that we chose, and finally, to order their house dessert (some cherry dessert). No doubt they are proud of their best dishes but it was not polite for them to show their visible displeasure when we did not follow their recommendations.

"Excellent"
6/6
Yong Lin T.6 years ago · 1 review

Service was excellent. And more importantly, the food was awesome. Had the steaks and escargot, best steak I ever had. (Almost most expensive, but worth it)

"Awful"
1/6
Simon S.6 years ago · 3 reviews

The Tavern was an institution for many years but has since gone downhill. The food was nothing special and the service wasn't great. The restaurant is in serious need of a refresh. Hope it can get back to what it was like in the good old days.

"Very good"
5/6
Beverly T.6 years ago · 7 reviews

Quaint restaurant. Service was impeccable! The cherry jubilee is a must try! The portions was reasonable for the price. Steak is cut and weighed right in front of you.

"Very good"
5/6
Xi Wen C.7 years ago · 3 reviews

Great food, although the main course took quite a while to come but overall a great dining experience! Very engaging and truly service oriented staff as well.

"Very good"
5/6
Tan F.7 years ago · 1 review

The environment and the food is nice. Only the aircon too cold. My family n myself can't really enjoyed the food!! Service is so so...

"Very good"
5/6
Lilian C.7 years ago · 117 reviews

Food was good though a little pricey. Opted for the set lunch instead of ala carte . Main course was decent size. Nice ambience , decor and music. Will probably visit agin wallet allows

"Excellent"
6/6
ellein t.7 years ago · 1 review

Very very good food! The servers were professional and knowledgeable. The decor was of european continental design so it gives off a very cosy feeling

"Awful"
1/6
Jasper N.7 years ago · 1 review

Very poor service. Had to get up a few times just to get the waiter. Forgetful waiter. Food was not bad but comes at high price. Will not go again.

"Good"
4/6
Gerald S.7 years ago · 1 review

The quality of the Australia Wagyu Beef is awesome but the wait is too long. I am guessing it may be due to the V'Day surge.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ignatius C.7 years ago · 1 review

Quiet, cosy ambience and attentive service with excellent food to match. An excellent place to get together with friends over a great meal. The wagyu beef steak is done to perfection and highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gerald W.7 years ago · 1 review

Excellent service and attention to details! When they found out that we are there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, the staff penned a card to congratulate us! The boss himself took the trouble to prepare the crepe suzette for us. Amazing!

"Average"
3/6
Shiva V.7 years ago · 1 review

Helpful staff but not much of options for vegetarian food. They do take sometime to answer the phone though. The menu is somewhat expensive. overall a 3.

"Excellent"
6/6
Edwina O.7 years ago · 1 review

Splendid! Perfectly executed racclete, lamb chops and fillet steak (done to medium rare as specified; the newer restaurants need to learn how to do this!). Try and score the table for two outside!

"Excellent"
6/6
Barry d.7 years ago · 1 review

+great service +fantastic food + avocado with crab as appetizer +wagyu steak; melts on the tongue +desserts are a spectacle for both eye and taste pupils - Rest room is a point of improvement.

"Average"
3/6
Alessia B.7 years ago · 10 reviews

Pretentious service, a smile would have been welcome. A bit overpriced but food is good. Very European atmosphere.

"Good"
4/6
Yvonne L.7 years ago · 5 reviews

Reasonably well-cooked steak and a decent cut but similar quality can be had for less at other steak houses. Ambiance was lacking, menu fairly small,

"Good"
4/6
Mark Z.7 years ago · 5 reviews

Soft drink is way too expensive, $8 for a small glass of coke. Had commented on my booking n called to confirm that they r aware of my husband's birthday. Mentioned there will be a complimentary cake but did not do anything at all. Im disappointed. Food wise, foie gras was good. Prefer jap wagyu over australian.

"Not good "
2/6
Hugh S.7 years ago · 1 review

Bill came to $600 for 4 of us and I have to say from the decor and overall experience I wasn't expecting that as I've been to top restaurants in SG which came to less. Staff very nice but I'd not go again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Hong Kee K.7 years ago · 1 review

A warm and cosy restaurant with traditional colonial styled setting and decorations. It immediately relax you and put you at ease. The foods and services are unbelievable fantastic! Despite its astronomical food prices, it is value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nicholas L.7 years ago · 7 reviews

We've been dining here for more than 20 years, and we order the same dishes: raclette, sliced veal Zürich. Crepes suzette and cherry jubilee are flambed tableside.

"Excellent"
6/6
esther t.7 years ago · 1 review

Perfect steak, wide select of foods in menu, good service and most important of all, not expensive. Very central location which is good, easily accessible by all.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jerome P.7 years ago · 6 reviews

excellent service and marvelous food. house wine was of a decent quality

"Very good"
5/6
Pak Soon L.7 years ago · 1 review

The Japanese beef steak is excellent. The service is very personal and friendly. They even noticed that it was my birthday and wished me happy birthday with a slice of cake, a song and a card. Very pleased with the service here.