Candlenut

DempseyPeranakan, Pan Asian$$$$
Excellent
5.2/6
276 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

INDOCAFÉ - The White House

Newton
Peranakan
5.1/665
INDOCAFÉ - The White House

Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower

Tanjong Pagar
Peranakan
4.5/645
Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower

About Candlenut


The world’s first Michelin-starred Peranakan restaurantAt lifestyle destination COMO Dempsey, Candlenut serves up elevated, contemporary Peranakan cuisine. Enjoy a dining experience reminiscent of Peranakan banquets of yesteryear – where myriad communal dishes are presented in small servings so every guest gets to experience the complex, rich tastes of Peranakan food. Diners can choose from more than 40 appetisers, mains and desserts from the a la carte menu for lunch and dinner. For those who prefer to leave it to the chef, you can opt for a sensational 10-course tasting menu for dinner. Candlenut has admirers spread much further afield than Singapore, so reservations are always essential.
Please note that Candlenut only accepts bookings up to 30 days in advance and that tables will only be held for 15 minutes.

Opening Times

Closed now
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday
Closed
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Address

Candlenut
17A Dempsey Road
Singapore 249676

More about Candlenut, Singapore

The flagship in Singapore’s armada of funky new-age Peranakan restaurants, Candlenut presents Singapore’s most emblematic cuisine in a way nobody has before. In its new and larger premises at new lifestyle destination COMO Dempsey, Candlenut is refined and exquisite yet unpretentious and casual. It is one of those restaurants hard to put in a box with a label on it – unless that label is a Michelin Star, because Candlenut is the only Peranakan restaurant in the world to hold one. The brainchild of young superstar chef Malcolm Lee, Candlenut has made waves reverberating well beyond Dempsey, Singapore and Asia – but Candlenut is a place you can still feel the pure passion, unornamented authenticity and desire to enjoy cooking and eating that started it all for Lee.

Candlenut celebrates the fusion of Asian flavours and techniques that is at the heart of Peranakan cuisine. As well as the traditional Chinese and Malay influences, Lee injects plenty of his own intuition to make some downright delicious creations – one favourite at Candlenut’s celebrated Outram Park restaurant was a classic Peranakan buah keluak dish, souped up with sous-vide Wagyu beef instead of traditional pork ribs. The menu changes frequently at Candlenut but whatever it is will probably be one of the most memorable meals you eat in Singapore. The new Candlenut restaurant at COMO Dempsey has an expanded seating capacity of 92, including an eight-seat private room perfect for intimate dinners or casual business lunches, as well as an al fresco dining area. Book a table and head to Dempsey Road to find out what all the fuss is about for yourself.

276 Candlenut Reviews

Excellent
5.2/6
276 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Great"
5/6
Lynda C.a year ago · 2 reviews

The staff were excellent, the service was fast, maybe too fast for a dining experience. We ordered the crispy pork belly which wasn't available so then ordered the pork neck satay which was tasty, not your usual satay. We also ordered the ocean trout small bite which was a subtle taste sensation. We followed these with the local squid with squid ink and tamarind. I found the flavor in this too overpowering for the squid. I love tamarind but to me it the taste was too heavy handed. We then had the crab curry which was delicious. The chocolate and chilli dessert was sublime and my favorite dish of the evening. I would recommend going for tasteful, light, Peranakan food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Don B.a year ago · 1 review

This is a fantastic restaurant providing a tasting menu of Nonya cuisine. It provided one of the best dining experiences we have had anywhere in the world. Yes a big call but one we are making. Chef Malcolm Lee has a beautiful skill of balancing flavours as he presents modern takes on what appears to be the traditional cooking of his childhood. At $60 (plus the dreaded Singaporean added taxes) this is also exceptional value. Our set menu comprised 4 small entrees, 6 more substantial mains and one desert from a choice of 5. Just outstanding. Go there!

"Great"
5/6
Rachel A.a year ago · 4 reviews

Brought my overseas friends to Candlenut for dinner. The food was excellent, great interpretation of what Pernankan food is about. It was a great experience for my friends, who has never tried Pernankan food. Service staff could be more prompt; it was hard getting their attention. I love their vegetable curry and the Buah Keluak Ice cream!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Burton C.a year ago · 2 reviews

unique spin to the Peranakan cuisine, Candlenut offers great modern Peranakan food with great taste and quality at affordable price. The service was excellent. The kitchen was willing to serve a dish out of the menu as some of us had food allergy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Harold A.a year ago · 1 review

We had the dinner tasting menu. The food was flavorful and of very good variety. Portions were just right. Very attentive service by our waiter. We are pleasantly surprised to be offered a glass of champagne to celebrate Candlenut's Michelin star!

"Excellent"
6/6
gary c.a year ago · 1 review

A wonderful gastronomic evening created by a very talented young chef. Ling our waitress enthusiastically took us through the menu which for a fan of Asian food brought a whole basket of new treasures. The wing bean salad was mouth watering and perfectly offset the richness of the Chicken Buah Keluak, the signature dish. The Buah Keluak ice cream on salted caramel then took things to an even higher level. For inspired Peranakan cooking, this is an absolute must.

"Great"
5/6
Lilian L.a year ago · 2 reviews

It is one of the best nonya food in town in an authentic peranakan fine-dining setting and reasonably priced. For overseas friends as well as makan kakis will certainly recommend Candlenut Kitchen for its cuisine with a difference especially the bush keluak with wagyu ribs. Yums :o)

"Great"
5/6
Lilian C.a year ago · 30 reviews

Candlenut should reconsider policy of not serving tap water which was implemented a few months back. Though the food and service is decent, I probably won't re patronize restaurants that serve only bottled water as this is simply not acceptable in a country like singapore .

"Great"
5/6
Louisa L.a year ago · 1 review

Food was excellent but I don't understand the staff's refusal to serve tap water. I would be alright with paying a small amount such as $0.50 but in this case, they were very insistent on not serving tap water at all. Considering that this is an upscale restaurant and we had already ordered the set dinner which was $50++, I really do not understand why they had to be so stingy with serving tap water. If not for this, it would have been a perfect experience because I really enjoyed the food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ranajay D.a year ago · 1 review

Dinner at Candlenut was amazing! The food was great and there were several dishes served. Their menu changes every night so during my visit, the lamb satay was my favourite! Great food, great ambiance and great service!