Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Singapore
Telok Ayer
Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower
Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower Reviews

Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower

Peranakan, Chinese, Asian, Malaysian

Dishes priced aroundSGD 18

Photo of restaurant Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower in Telok Ayer, Singapore

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower (78)

Read what people think about Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower and book a table with confidence!

4.7/6

78 reviews

Food:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
617
531
422
35
22
11
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Good"
4/6
Eric C.2 months ago · 3 reviews

Quality of dishes somewhat mixed, doesn’t feel super authentic to me.

"Very good"
5/6
Denise L.4 months ago · 1 review

Nice place, food and portion is decent. Great buffet value for all.

"Very good"
5/6
Jun Yit Y.5 months ago · 23 reviews

Got a complimentary appetiser. That was extremely good spiced arrowhead crisps

"Very good"
5/6
Pang Kiat O.6 months ago · 49 reviews

great peranakan food great customer service recommend the ngo hiang and otah

"Very good"
5/6
Mooi Yen C.9 months ago · 10 reviews

Service is good, food is good, will be back again

"Very good"
5/6
Mooi Yen C.9 months ago · 10 reviews

Overall good food and good service, value for money, will visit again

"Excellent"
6/6
John L.10 months ago · 27 reviews

Great food. Good service but the one of the waitress was scolding another very loudly

"Good"
4/6
Paul C.10 months ago · 1 review

Visited during lunch time, not too crowded. Food was served up fast.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sandie W.a year ago · 73 reviews

Good variety of food and all dishes ordered were delicious.

"Very good"
5/6
Gary L.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Really nice enviromment; the food is good; the service was okay

"Good"
4/6
Yoshifumi Y.3 years ago · 6 reviews

Very nice nyona cuisine. The balance of price and quality is very good.

"Excellent"
6/6
Erin C.3 years ago · 10 reviews

located at the basement of the tower. almost missed it. food is good. Great to bring overseas friends here

"Very good"
5/6
Angela L.4 years ago · 1 review

Love the food and the great service! Authentic Peranakan cuisine. Definitely recommended!

"Excellent"
6/6
May T.5 years ago · 25 reviews

Peranakan food there was great, especially the buah keluak chicken (chef said they soaked and repeatedly cleaned the candlenut for 1 week). Chef was very friendly and even gave us complimentary nyonya kuih to end the meal.

"Very good"
5/6
CJ C.5 years ago · 8 reviews

Food is good, quality assured, portions generous. Service staff are courteous and experienced.

"Average"
3/6
Yip C.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Salted Veg Duck Soup no flavour, very blend. The complimentry desert is nice. Otak Otak too little portion, taste of other dishes average. Overall average. Service is very friendly.

"Very good"
5/6
Robert B.5 years ago · 1 review

It was a cosy restaurant, the food was good and service was prompt and friendly.

"Very good"
5/6
Bee Hong T.5 years ago · 7 reviews

Went a few times...food is good. Will visit again soon.

"Good"
4/6
Amanda P.5 years ago · 1 review

Alot of tourist, some of the food maybe too big a portion. Also, no wheelchair access to the restaurant.

"Very good"
5/6
yu k.5 years ago · 1 review

Delicious Food and Fair Price! I brought my colleague from overseas, and he enjoys the food, and impressed by the place!

"Average"
3/6
Franklin C.5 years ago · 5 reviews

bit crowded with rowdy tourists ... food is okay and price reasonable

"Very good"
5/6
David L.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Yummy food. Service staff very good. Good recommendation from head waitress

"Excellent"
6/6
Lee E.5 years ago · 1 review

Delicious food with nice service. Chef David gave us a brief about peranakan food which was very educational. Well done.

"Good"
4/6
Bee Hong T.5 years ago · 7 reviews

nice food. i have visited this place a few times. value for money

"Good"
4/6
Benedict L.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Great food, great service. Went on a weekend, so it was not crowded. Therefore, it was not noisy.

"Good"
4/6
Eunice F.5 years ago · 8 reviews

nice lunch set. will visit again and bring colleagues. recommended

"Good"
4/6
George K.5 years ago · 26 reviews

Decent food, good for large groups, but service leaves much to be desired

"Excellent"
6/6
Khiang S.5 years ago · 1 review

Wonderful place and food. Good selection of menu items. Great service and friendly staff. Chendol was good. Got complimentary kueh and a set of oranges.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andy K.5 years ago · 1 review

Had a really wonderful time. The staff serving us is very friendly, polite and attentive. She is smiling all the way and always looks out to what we need (such as refilling tea and water) even before we asked for it. The boss is very friendly too and his recommendations are fantastic. Food quality is authentic. Loved the whole experience. I strongly recommend this place :)

"Excellent"
6/6
joanne c.5 years ago · 1 review

very good service and good food. Location is very easy to locate and totally enjoyed all the dishes especially the beef rending and sambal sotong

"Good"
4/6
Keith L.5 years ago · 26 reviews

Their dishes are quite authentic and good for a work lunch

"Excellent"
6/6
Colin T.5 years ago · 1 review

Great food and really friendly staff! Even the chef comes out to mingle.

"Very good"
5/6
Jason H.5 years ago · 299 reviews

Their Korean side dishes are really good too! Their grilled chicken wings dish is a must try..though it is not exactly a Korean dish. Good restaurant for locals and tourists to visit.

"Very good"
5/6
S J.5 years ago · 175 reviews

this place has at least a staff at all times going the rounds to refill the soup. The quality of the food and the standard of their service are also consistent in all of their outlets that I've been to.

"Good"
4/6
Jingzhong C.6 years ago · 1 review

Restaurant was empty when we arrived at 8pm. Food was good, particularly the ngoh hiang, but service was lacking at times. That was probably because we were the only guests.

"Average"
3/6
Yvonne L.6 years ago · 1 review

Went there on a public holiday for dinner with my family. The restaurant was pretty empty at about 8pm. Food was okay but no longer fantastic like before. Service was great. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

"Good"
4/6
Raymond C.6 years ago · 3 reviews

Restaurant serves authentic Nonya food. Servings were of the right size. However, the restaurant is located underground and it can be inconvenient for the elderly and handicapped. It's a pity that a few dishes were also unavailable at the time of order around 6.45pm,when dinner only started at 6. It's Michelin Bib Gourmand title only extends to its food. Lots of improvements required to elevate its bib gourmand status to a star graded restaurant. In short, good food but need lots of attention to improve its own customers service

"Very good"
5/6
Audrey A.6 years ago · 1 review

Food were all tasty and to my liking, especially the buak kuluak chicken, babi poteh and lemongrass drink. Service were attentive. Restaurant threw in complimentary dessert.

"Not good "
2/6
HWEE LI H.6 years ago · 20 reviews

Saw the mixture of positive and negative reviews online but still wanted to give it a try. The food was average and overpriced.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jason H.6 years ago · 299 reviews

Peranakan food. Restaurant takes pride in the food they serve. Family & i hooked that we bring friends along on subsequent visits to taste the good food.

"Good"
4/6
John P.6 years ago · 1 review

The food was decent but I felt it was not very refined nor in my opinion worthy of the Michelin Guide mention. There are other Peranakan restaurants serving much better food, although none are nearer to my office. Having said that, service was good and that made up for the mediocre food and small portions.

"Good"
4/6
Celia L.6 years ago · 9 reviews

Great food and great service! Staff are polite and attentive.

"Very good"
5/6
Roy K.6 years ago · 3 reviews

Food was good, as expected. Was there over weekend, so waiter attention and service was also good. HSBC discount provided the added positive feeling and satisfaction. Restaurant staff has been attentive.

"Excellent"
6/6
Eileen G.6 years ago · 6 reviews

First time trying out Straits Chinese Restaurant and the experience was delightful for all of us. The nonya dishes were exceptional and the service was remarkable. We were all very impressed; considering we actually picked the restaurant randomly and with totally no expectation. Definitely going back there again. (And yes, the Buah Keluak is the highlight for me). x

"Average"
3/6
Winnie O.6 years ago · 2 reviews

Warm service staff but food took a while to come despite restaurant was not very crowded. Food was tasty though. Reasonable price as well. Family type restaurant

"Very good"
5/6
John S.6 years ago · 94 reviews

There are better Nonya restaurants around, food here is not authentic at all. Although thumbs up for great service. I would authenticity of food at 1 of 5 and service at 4 of 5. Babi pongteng is so black and meat is so dry.

"Very good"
5/6
Jason H.6 years ago · 299 reviews

sambal kang kong, kai lan, seafood fried egg, otah, and asam fish. All the dishes tasted good except for the asam fish, worth visiting again! Great service.

"Good"
4/6
Esther L.6 years ago · 1 review

The Kangkong was not spicy and not crunchy. Below average. The Sambal sotong was the best among the 5 dishes we ordered. The rest were average. Service was good though.

"Good"
4/6
ian c.6 years ago · 4 reviews

good food and service. very decent home cooked style of food. price was reasonable and service was not bad. will come back again if ever in the area

"Very good"
5/6
SW w.6 years ago · 1 review

The food is overall nice but not spicy enough. Keluak only got 2 pc for small order. Dessert too coconuty taste. Not to my liking. Waitress are super friendly.