Reviews Straits Chinese Restaurant – Chinatown Plaza

Tanjong PagarChinese, Asian, Singaporean$$$$
Excellent
4.6/6
19 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Beauty in the Pot - KINEX Level 3

Paya Lebar
5.3/6654
Beauty in the Pot - KINEX Level 3

Beauty In The Pot - Centrepoint

Orchard Road
5.2/6622
Beauty In The Pot - Centrepoint

19 Straits Chinese Restaurant – Chinatown Plaza Reviews

Read reviews about Straits Chinese Restaurant – Chinatown Plaza here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Straits Chinese Restaurant – Chinatown Plaza. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Straits Chinese Restaurant – Chinatown Plaza.

Excellent
4.6/6
19 Reviews
Service:Great
Food:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Average
Atmosphere:Lively
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Rina L.5 months ago · 1 review

A very nice Peranakan restaurant with very beautiful deco and good food! Most importantly food was served fast and very good service which lacked in most restaurants nowadays for a Saturday dinner🤗

"Excellent"
6/6
Nelson C.5 months ago · 2 reviews

High quality food! Staff are friendly and helpful, and reservation is smooth and easy. We celebrated my mum's birthday with a dinner for 8 and it was a very good experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
Yap Y.8 months ago · 2 reviews

Very good ambiance. The Ayam buah keluak was the kick! Didn’t expect such good food t h o. The coffee was robust and had g o o d k i c k.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chester T.a year ago · 14 reviews

Tried their ala carte buffet. Great, friendly service n nice peranakan food. Their sambal used in their sambal dishes are really nice. Good value too. Highly recommended!

"Good"
4/6
Joyanne Y.a year ago · 1 review

Located just 10 minutes walking distance away from Tanjong Pagar MRT station, this place is easily accessible for some decent Nyonya dishes. Greeted by their humble yet one-of-a-kind décor, it offers a welcoming setting for diners. We ordered some of their signatures, i.e. Ayam Buah Keluak, Babi Assam Pedas, Chap Chye and Ngoh Hiang for 3 pax. Food was served warm, satisfying for its strong flavourful and savoury taste but it doesn’t cover the fact that the Chap Chye was a little over salty for my own preference. Ideal place for a quiet dinner (made my reservation at 7pm), while you might also notice that the restaurant caters to buses of tourists dropping off at intervals. Would likely drop by again for my Peranakan food cravings.

"Okay"
3/6
Farokh F.a year ago · 1 review

Food is slightly above average with a few exceptions. The Ayam Buah Keluak, Cap Chye, Otah and Sayur Lodeh were great. However, the shells used in Kuih Pie Tee did not taste fresh and was a big let down. The Dry Laksa was forgettable as well. The problem with the place is its service. The lady waitress took 15 - 20 mins to inform us that a dish we ordered was unavailable. Also, when I walked over to get the attention of the wait staff, I saw the same server putting her nose to a cut watermelon. The other wait staff had no initiative as well. We requested the menu after eating our dinner to look their desserts but got the main menu instead. I was vague but any staff with initiative will know that we were done with dinner and looked to order desserts. We spent around $210 for 8 pax. So so food and bad service. Will not visit again.

"Great"
5/6
Kelly T.6 months ago · 9 reviews

Slightly pricey but the food was great! It can get a little noisy so not so great for a sit-down get together dinner, more like a quick dinner and that’s it. They don’t have parking in the building, so have to drive to the next building.

"Great"
5/6
S J.6 months ago · 183 reviews

Most importantly the food was good and I felt rather on point. The seasonings were a big step away from the usual Chinese seasonings of soy/oyster sauce with salt. I was especially impressed by their appetizers which were all tasteful and visit-worthy bites.

"Great"
5/6
Louis L.10 months ago · 1 review

Food is good but price is on the higher side especially if you order ala carte, despite the 15% on some credit cards. They used to have an ala carte buffet (bring that back!) Crowded with tourists in the afternoon

"Great"
5/6
Angie T.3 months ago · 5 reviews

Quite a good experience dining at this restaurant. Felt cosy in the peranakan-meets-minimalist decor even though the restaurant is quite big. Not crowded on a Sunday evening. Food was not bad, some dishes better than others.