Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Singapore
Bukit Timah
Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral
Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral Reviews

Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral

British, Seafood, Western, Eat & Drink

Dishes priced aroundSGD 26

Photo of restaurant Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral in Bukit Timah, Singapore
Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral is not bookable via Quandoo. To make a reservation, contact the restaurant using the details below.

Reviews of Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral (76)

Read what people think about Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Smiths Authentic British Fish and Chips - Balmoral and book a table with confidence!

4.6/6

76 reviews

Food:Great
Atmosphere:Lively
Service:Great
Value for money:Reasonable value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
622
521
418
39
25
11
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Very good"
5/6
pamela y.7 months ago · 3 reviews

Fish and chips was good 👍🏻 would come again next time

"Good"
4/6
Keith L.8 months ago · 5 reviews

Fish was fresh , service was ok , chips was good too

"Good"
4/6
Jonalyn G.a year ago · 1 review

Food was ok but what made the dining experience better was how we are treated very nicely by Maribel.

"Very good"
5/6
Andy T.a year ago · 8 reviews

Fish is still fresh and staff friendly. They missed out one of my order but it was quickly topped up. Chips were a bit soggy though and need to be more crispy. But overall it’s a reasonable place to go to if you are looking for British style fish and chips.

"Average"
3/6
Simon H.a year ago · 51 reviews

The chips were not good. The outside was tough to bite through. Definite crunchy. In insides were also hit and miss. Some were cooked through and was soft, some were hard because it was undercooked. The fish was alright. Overall it is pricey and the quality was not there.

"Not good "
2/6
Wong W.a year ago · 7 reviews

Below average taste for above average price. Wouldn’t recommend and won’t return

"Excellent"
6/6
Bryan P.a year ago · 5 reviews

authentic and really good Fish n Chips!! the Lemonade is a MUST TRY!!!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Alfred H.a year ago · 1 review

excellent fish and chips with polite and knowledgeable staff. :)

"Very good"
5/6
Eunys N.a year ago · 2 reviews

Nice fish and chips i like the vinegar and salt flavour my friends and I enjoyed it :)

"Good"
4/6
Yvonne K.a year ago · 4 reviews

Reservation doesn’t give us a good seat. We ended up seated on a small table by the door outside when I specifically ask for a comfortable table as my friend is very big in size

"Average"
3/6
Sabrina L.2 years ago · 3 reviews

Would not recommend as the food was below expectations. The service was not good too.

"Very good"
5/6
Kiki L.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Great place! Loved the good food and friendly service staff.

"Good"
4/6
Alex C.5 years ago · 5 reviews

nice small shop.. the fish is fresh with bug serving on the fries. although the taste still different from what we had in UK but overall is good.

"Good"
4/6
Chow T.5 years ago · 2 reviews

slightly above average food ...a bit pricey quiet neighbourhood on weekend

"Awful"
1/6
James R.5 years ago · 1 review

Poor service and much smell in the shop to eat inside.

"Very good"
5/6
Christine L.5 years ago · 2 reviews

authentic British fish and chips. can be Pricey but good quality.

"Good"
4/6
Jane L.5 years ago · 1 review

The food hv no complain in fact its really Good. But sitting in the restaurant hv a very strong oil smells, makes ur whole body smells oilly. Sitting outside in the open is a better choice

"Excellent"
6/6
Ong Boon P.5 years ago · 1 review

good food ..price can be better...but have a good time

"Average"
3/6
Stefanie C.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Below average, nothing to rave about. Doubt I will go back again.

"Average"
3/6
Simon H.5 years ago · 51 reviews

Main man quit? Now the cook is a Filipino and not the Englishman anymore. Smaller potion, increased priced. Will not return. Bewarned.

"Average"
3/6
Felicia H.5 years ago · 7 reviews

pretty old school fish and chips. Everything is fine except ventilation in there doesn't seem too good, will leave the place with an oil stench on the clothing.

"Very good"
5/6
Giam X.6 years ago · 8 reviews

Good service and food quality is good. Waiting time is short as well

"Very good"
5/6
Hanni P.6 years ago · 3 reviews

The real Britist f&c, taste just like the original. We just had it at UK Manchester 2 days ago it taste the same. Would had given it 6star if we had not have to wait due to the broken fryer.

"Very good"
5/6
Anette S.6 years ago · 3 reviews

Loved it! Best fish & chips we've had in this town. Will definitely be back again. The only pity is that there is only one outlet on the island and you can't get delivery.

"Very good"
5/6
Desmond L.6 years ago · 1 review

Nice and casual dining. Fish and chip is just excellent. Real authentic and good quality fish. I am sure to go back with my family everytime we crave for fish and chips.

"Very good"
5/6
Ivan H.6 years ago · 3 reviews

Brought the family there for a british fish and chips experience. Good selection of different kinds of fish, including the classic staples of haddock and cod you would find in the UK. Some sides are a tad pricey though (e.g. $2 for gravy?!)

"Excellent"
6/6
Tiffany C.6 years ago · 1 review

Very authentic indeed. Took Husband there for his birthday and he really loved it as that’s exactly what he had missed from home. Really tasty, alcohol selection is good too 😁

"Excellent"
6/6
Charis L.6 years ago · 3 reviews

Crispy yummy fish and chips with great and polite service. We sat outside and the staff were ever attentive to what we needed - cutlery, extra drinks, clear away. It’s got a nice easy going vibe to it

"Average"
3/6
Osbert T.6 years ago · 50 reviews

SMITHS authentic british Fish and Chips is located comfortably near walking distance off the mrt station. My experiences there was no a great one as the fish served was dry and hard to tear apart.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kelvin L.6 years ago · 3 reviews

fresh and authentic! if u miss Ur chippy back on the British isles, this is the place to be.

"Very good"
5/6
Bryan L.6 years ago · 28 reviews

A proper fish & chips that comes in UK-type serving size, and with all the right add-ons and condiments one would expect, like mushy peas and malt vinegar. The battered Mars Bar is to die for. Staff are friendly and helpful too!

"Excellent"
6/6
Simon H.6 years ago · 51 reviews

Delicious fish and chips! Good portions and quality fish. Will be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jake L.6 years ago · 1 review

Good ambience and right price for good food, location is far but good for fixing a craving once in a while, will recommend it to friends and family.

"Excellent"
6/6
Simon H.6 years ago · 51 reviews

Delicious fish and chips. Good sized portions, and friendly staff. We will return. Thumbs up.

"Good"
4/6
Puey Nee C.6 years ago · 1 review

Authentic British Fish & chips! It is as good as what I had eaten in UK. Is a little hot in the restaurant, ventilation is poor.

"Good"
4/6
Sally G.6 years ago · 10 reviews

2nd visit to the restaurant; nice food and atmosphere. Will go there again

"Very good"
5/6
Mike S.6 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food, great service. Booking is a waste of time (no table set aside but asked to try and find somewhere in Red Lion Pub or eatery).

"Excellent"
6/6
Phoebe L.6 years ago · 23 reviews

Excellent fish & chips! Waiting time is just a tad long but it's worth it – fish tasted fresh, soft, and was fried to a golden brown batter. They usually pair it with fries but you can also choose salad to offset the oiliness.

"Excellent"
6/6
Zhong Qing W.6 years ago · 76 reviews

I love their food, their drinks and as well as their service provided. I will definitely be going back there again one day. Nice day.

"Excellent"
6/6
Claudia C.6 years ago · 2 reviews

It was my second visit to Smith's. I like the fish as it is fresh and their fries isn't the least bit oily! I'll be sure to make my third visit soon!

"Good"
4/6
Gerard Q.6 years ago · 2 reviews

Arguably the most authentic fish and chips in Singapore. The portions were large for the price and my favourite thing about Smith's is their use of potatoes instead of frozen fries.

"Very good"
5/6
Julian Y.6 years ago · 2 reviews

Be careful of the portion sizes! The Standard serving is pretty generous. Go here only if you are tired of all the normal chain restaurants and want a true Brit chippie experience.

"Very good"
5/6
Gareth M.7 years ago · 1 review

It was a birthday celebration for my mum. She loves fish and chips, so I brought her here. It was our first time trying the food, the batter was different from those we had outside. She finished all of her food!! Thank you.

"Average"
3/6
Leona C.7 years ago · 2 reviews

cod was alright, mushrooms good. onion rings too oily. overall the breaded versions were more palatable n less oily-tasting. We did not eat the fries as it came too much and overall it was too oily. Will order the cod (as fish cakes) rather than with the meal (of which fries cost 5-8+ depending on portion size)

"Good"
4/6
Alvin S.7 years ago · 14 reviews

A little bit pricey at $23 for a haddock and chips. Still, an (arguably) healthy dose of nostalgia from my days is the UK. Note that their $12 “lunch special” is a misnomer, as it is actually a half portion. So it’s not any cheaper than the normal all-day mains.

"Good"
4/6
Cera K.7 years ago · 9 reviews

The smokey & oily smell in Smith was overbearing and we almost freaked out when we first arrived. Thank god we didn't had to take the tables inside the restaurant. We loved the experience of having our food at the pub right next (same owner) where we could watch EPL match live.

"Very good"
5/6
Sam B.7 years ago · 5 reviews

Piping hot fresh fish. Try the Cod, good stuff! Environment wise - hey, its a chip shop, do expect the smells and spartan setting.

"Not good "
2/6
Osbert T.7 years ago · 50 reviews

it realll y is not as i t was advertise d. very bad. the fish, was ok. But i really could not see a different between those at the any other western food shop.

"Good"
4/6
Heinrich J.7 years ago · 3 reviews

We ordered three standard cod and chips but could not finished the chips. For ladies, I suggest they can order the smaller version. The restaurant did not update its menu prices on its website. The prices on its actual menu are higher now.

"Excellent"
6/6
Adam T.7 years ago · 2 reviews

As a British person, the food and experience was very authentic. I will be bringing the rest of the family back to visit next time. Very friendly owner and staff