Reviews Galangal

Mount HawthornThai$$$$
Excellent
5.0/6
603 Reviews
Galangal Perth image 1
Galangal Perth image 2
Galangal Perth image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

603 Galangal Reviews

Read reviews about Galangal here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Galangal. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Galangal.

Excellent
5.0/6
603 Reviews
Noise levels:Average
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Cassandra N.2 months ago · 1 review

We loved Galangal’s old restaurant and we love their new restaurant even more. The staff are so kind, the atmosphere is awesome and the food is always AMAZING!!! So much flavour in all their dishes and everything is presented beautifully. We love taking our friends and family here on special occasions as they never leave disappointed.

"Good"
4/6
Trevor S.a year ago · 1 review

Restaurant decor is beautiful very tasteful, service attentive, price reasonable. Food was good especially the roast duck red curry but the menu was not extensive. We ordered the fish cakes and money bags for entree both were well cooked and very tasty. We also ordered the barramundi which had nice flavours and a well cooked pad Thai noodle dish. Disappointing that alcohol is not byo on weekend. The wine we ordered which was a Pinot was out of stock so they recommended a substitute. The big let down was the acoustics in the place as the restaurant was full it was a case of having to shout to be heard as for some reason people in Australian restaurants seem to talk loud to the point of yelling. We had to leave after a certain point for somewhere quieter. The lady behind the bar/reception counter where I went to pay was extremely lovely and friendly. This only made up for the downsides of the evening so well done

"Excellent"
6/6
Paul L.7 months ago · 1 review

We booked online and were shown to our table in what ended up a very busy and popular restaurant. Seated in a nicely decorated room by attentive staff, dishes arrived promptly. Std spring rolls and stuffed won tons served nuclear hot, and Tom Kar Gai soup full of flavour. Our other dishes all were served after asking if they could start mains which is nice if you wish to take a little longer over your meal. Dishes are a little smaller than a regular Asian restaurant, but conversely they were more flavourful with the use of proper ingredients, veg, herbs and tender meat. Recommended and will go again.

"Okay"
3/6
Disna A.a year ago · 2 reviews

The food was flavoursome but the service was very poor. The waitstaff were not very attentive at all. We had to try so hard to get their attention each time we wanted anything. Even then they looked as if they were not very happy to have been called. The galloping horses and the soft shell crabs of the appetisers were very good. We had red duck, stir fry Thai basil chicken, Tom yum mushroom, fried rice with prawn and steam rice for mains. We got everything else except the fried rice together and we waited and waited and even after we had finished all our curry and steam rice the fried rice was still not there. Finally after also g 3 times from waitstaff it finally came and by that time we were too full after eating the rest so didn't really enjoy it. It was tasty but had only about 6 prawns in the whole dish. They could have included more. The ambience was vibrant and warm. Such a shame that such good had to be served with so much lack of enthusiasm by the staff that it had to spoil the whole experience for us.

"Great"
5/6
kate b.a year ago · 1 review

Galangal serves the best Thai food in Perth. Service is great and during the week they have BYO, whcih is great! The only slight negative is that the acoustics are not great and when it's packed (which is always is) it can be hard to hear but this is a small price to pay for the yummy food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Anne W.9 months ago · 1 review

We went to Galangal quite a few times when it first open, but for one reason or another haven't been lately. Took some overseas visitors on Thursday night and loved it all over again! Great food and good service. Will be back before too long this time!

"Great"
5/6
Jeff C.a year ago · 1 review

Galangal staff were excellent last nite they were under the pump but did really well. Food was delicious, no complaints. We enjoyed four appetizers which were shared between four of us, Then ordered a Main meal each with rice Quite generous serves with a vegetable dish to share. Will be back soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynda B.a year ago · 1 review

Galangal has lovely food in a well presented and appointed restaurant and bar. Prices are very reasonable and the portion sizes are quite large. Staff are efficient and friendly. I would recommend this restaurant for adults wanting a lovely meal in classier surrounds.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lyn T.7 months ago · 2 reviews

Four ladies celebrating a birthday at Galangal, we all enjoyed our meals. There were quite a few people in the restaurant but the service was prompt with no waiting for meals or drinks. We are all looking forward to our next visit. Lyn

"Okay"
3/6
Julia C.a year ago · 1 review

We shared an entrée which we both enjoyed and were looking forward to the main course. When the entrée dishes were taken away we were given our used cutlery back which I thought wasn't very professional. In fact I asked for a clean knife, but the waitress forgot to bring it to me. A bit disappointing. My friend asked for some extra chile in fish sauce as he likes his food hot, but when he was served his main course the chile that was brought to the table was just from a bottle of chile sauce. I quite enjoyed my main course which was green chicken curry but not enough to want to go back for another meal. Our booking was at 6, so one of the first people to order our meal and the waitress that served us had a dirty uniform on, which again I felt was quite unprofessional. I was told the place was a cut above the rest but I didn't feel that it was at all.