Candlenut

DempseyPeranakan, Pan Asian$$$$
Excellent
5.2/6
276 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

INDOCAFÉ - The White House

Newton
Peranakan
5.1/665
INDOCAFÉ - The White House

Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower

Tanjong Pagar
Peranakan
4.5/645
Straits Chinese Restaurant – Keck Seng Tower

About Candlenut


The world’s first Michelin-starred Peranakan restaurantAt lifestyle destination COMO Dempsey, Candlenut serves up elevated, contemporary Peranakan cuisine. Enjoy a dining experience reminiscent of Peranakan banquets of yesteryear – where myriad communal dishes are presented in small servings so every guest gets to experience the complex, rich tastes of Peranakan food. Diners can choose from more than 40 appetisers, mains and desserts from the a la carte menu for lunch and dinner. For those who prefer to leave it to the chef, you can opt for a sensational 10-course tasting menu for dinner. Candlenut has admirers spread much further afield than Singapore, so reservations are always essential.
Please note that Candlenut only accepts bookings up to 30 days in advance and that tables will only be held for 15 minutes.

Opening Times

Open today - Opens at 12:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday
Closed
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Address

Candlenut
17A Dempsey Road
Singapore 249676

More about Candlenut, Singapore

The flagship in Singapore’s armada of funky new-age Peranakan restaurants, Candlenut presents Singapore’s most emblematic cuisine in a way nobody has before. In its new and larger premises at new lifestyle destination COMO Dempsey, Candlenut is refined and exquisite yet unpretentious and casual. It is one of those restaurants hard to put in a box with a label on it – unless that label is a Michelin Star, because Candlenut is the only Peranakan restaurant in the world to hold one. The brainchild of young superstar chef Malcolm Lee, Candlenut has made waves reverberating well beyond Dempsey, Singapore and Asia – but Candlenut is a place you can still feel the pure passion, unornamented authenticity and desire to enjoy cooking and eating that started it all for Lee.

Candlenut celebrates the fusion of Asian flavours and techniques that is at the heart of Peranakan cuisine. As well as the traditional Chinese and Malay influences, Lee injects plenty of his own intuition to make some downright delicious creations – one favourite at Candlenut’s celebrated Outram Park restaurant was a classic Peranakan buah keluak dish, souped up with sous-vide Wagyu beef instead of traditional pork ribs. The menu changes frequently at Candlenut but whatever it is will probably be one of the most memorable meals you eat in Singapore. The new Candlenut restaurant at COMO Dempsey has an expanded seating capacity of 92, including an eight-seat private room perfect for intimate dinners or casual business lunches, as well as an al fresco dining area. Book a table and head to Dempsey Road to find out what all the fuss is about for yourself.

276 Candlenut Reviews

Excellent
5.2/6
276 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Terrible"
1/6
Grace W.a year ago · 1 review

My past experience dining there was excellent. So in spite of the restn changing the ala carte to set menu at S$50 per pax for dinner, I was determined to show off the cuisine to my overseas guests. I had trusted that the restaurant could deliver. Sadly the dishes were not those we came to love about Peranakan dishes. No rendang, no chap chye, babi pongtey, ayam buah keluak, etc. Perhaps the restaurant had gone too modern for my taste. The service time was sooo slow that we had to ask to be served main dishes 3 x. By right, these should be served all at the same time. It is not a Western meal. Plus, having set menus meant that the dishes are already planned right? I highlighted to the restaurant staff to one of my guest's allergies and was informed that they will try to make exception because it's set dishes. But to be charged S$40 for fried rice and kangkong and a simple fried minced pork dish and duck/pork soup is really not worth it. Moreover the servers are not very familiar with the ingredients and inspite of confirming with every dish served to my friend, he had an allergic reaction to one of the dishes. That said, I am totally disappointed and embarrassed. A real pity. The set menu doesn't work.

"Excellent"
6/6
Robin S.a year ago · 1 review

Our meal was excellent. Lots of different dishes, flavours and textures. Though I didn't try the squid! The staff were excellent too, attentive and helpful when describing the food. An all round fine establishment and highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Patrina T.a year ago · 1 review

Definitely a 6! Good service and decent Paranakan dishes (which is not easy to achieve. Most of what we get out there are not authentic in taste because we Paranakans are all very good cooks at home).

"Excellent"
6/6
Xue Li G.a year ago · 1 review

Dinner was fantastic! Omasake style - petite dishes with exciting flavors. Each dish is like a surprise which will please the palate and stomach. Perfect with attentive and polite service crew! Definitely worth a visit again :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Timothy D.a year ago · 2 reviews

Absolutely sensational food. I got giddier and giddier with each bite. Not for the faint of heart, because some of the later courses are PURE FIRE, but damn, those flavors are incredible. Can't wait to go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joseph K.a year ago · 2 reviews

Very well structured and balanced meal. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and was also glad to meet Malcolm to find out more about his heritage and background. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I'll definitely be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Kitty C.a year ago · 1 review

Nice staff, friendly atmosphere. We ordered according the waitress's suggestion, all 4 dishes are delicious. The sauce of Buah Leluak Wagyu and Assam Sotong are delicious, highly recommended. I also like to Durian Soup for dessert.

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda L.a year ago · 3 reviews

Great food, great service, unique space. Chef Malcolm is innovative with Peranakan cuisine and create refreshing interpretations. The old Dempsey warehouse space although large is made intimate with the clever use of an interesting light feature.

"Good"
4/6
Bart D.a year ago · 12 reviews

Good and tasty Peranakan food, but I had much higher expectations for a restaurant that received one Michelin star. There is nothing particularly fine about the food nor the presentation, I couldn't distinguish much difference with other Peranakan restaurants. The atmosphere is more like a sterile hotel restaurant and the service is only average.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah Q.a year ago · 10 reviews

The service was good. I liked the ambiance and the 'Mum's Curry' is really delicious! Another must try is the buah keluak dessert - this was really different and I enjoyed the popping sensation. (:

......